Not all priests are pedophiles; not all bishops are liars

“[D]espite my bad experiences with certain Catholic priests, and despite my anger over how the Church has dealt with the issue of abusive priests in general, I owe much to the Catholic community and have great respect for a number of individual priests and religious. In fact, my own youngest brother is a member of a religious order.  It is because of the respect I have for many Catholic priests and religious and the debt I feel to those people, and to the lay Catholics who have nurtured and educated me since childhood, that I believe my story should be told. The Catholic Church is better than the headlines; it is more than the sum of its mistakes. Pedophilia is not just a sin; it is a psychological disorder. It is not just a mistake; it is a crime. And the victims deserve to see justice served. But not all priests are pedophiles and not all bishops are liars.”

From Hurt to Healing

Leave a Reply

